Season One Roundup

Just like that, after 9 high intensity rounds of close battles, superb overtakes and just overall fantastic touring car racing the inaugural season of the Virtual British Touring Car Championship is over! From all of us here at VBTCR, we’d like to take this opportunity to thank each and every person who has taken part in any of the rounds, watched the broadcasts or even just followed the championship on our socials. Our aim was to create an enjoyable, competitive iRacing league for absolutely anyone who has the desire to compete. 18 races later, we feel as though that aim was achieved.


The rookies championship was open to anyone who started the season with less than 1500 irating. Eight drivers took part in the rookies championship and it was one that had many lead changes throughout the season but there was only one driver that could come out on top and that was Simpli Digi driver Jack ‘The Iron Man’ Newell! A well deserved title for a driver that consistently showed up throughout the season and was always battling his way through the field. The top three finished as follows:

1st  – Jack Newell

2nd – Tom Holland

3rd – Alfie Mcgarrity



The teams championship was quite honestly dominated by Impulse Racing, with them being the highest points scoring team in every single round throughout the season. The battle for the remaining places on the podium was an entertaining one with multiple teams finding them selves as high as second place throughout the season but the top three finished up as follows:

1st – Impulse Racing

2nd – Luminous Racing

3rd – Spud Motorsport



Now onto the big one, the overall drivers championship! After a hard fought season that went right down to the final round before being decided it was Luminous Racing driver Terje Flåten that came out on top. With 6 race wins and 9 podium finishes it was a very much deserved title.

1st – Terje Flåten

2nd –  Martijn Asschert

3rd – Andreas Gillmann

No comment yet, add your voice below!

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published.